Home > Press Releases > Viewing Release - Jamaica Creative Writing Exhibition Tours the Island

Jamaica Creative Writing Exhibition Tours the Island

The award-winning pieces in the Jamaica Creative Writing Competition is being showcased island-wide from August 7, 2014 to March 30, 2015 to give members of the public the opportunity to appreciate and recognize the award-winning works.

The pieces being showcased are from amateur and professional writers who entered their creative works in Poetry, Short Stories, Novels, Essays and Plays in the 2014 Jamaica Cultural Development Commission (JCDC) Jamaica Creative Writing Competition. The competition has been one of the best channels of providing these writers with the opportunity of recognizing and validating their writing talent, while showcasing and promoting writers and their original work.

The tour begun in Kingston at the National Library of Jamaica on Thursday, August 7 and will conclude on August 15. The Exhibition will then move to the Parish Libraries and on August 19 to September 2 St. Andrew will have its opportunity to view the outstanding pieces. From September 4 to 18, the Exhibition will be in Portland and in St. Thomas from September 22 to October 3 and in St. Catherine October 8 to 22. For Clarendon, the tour will get underway October 24 to November 7; Manchester, November 11 to 25; St. Elizabeth, November 27 to December 11 and Westmoreland December 15 to January 5.

For the New Year, 2015, persons in Hanover will be able to observe the Exhibition from January 7 to 21; St. James, January 23 to February 6; Trelawny, February 10 to February 24; St. Ann, February 26 to March 12 and St. Mary, March 16 to March 30.

The annual awards ceremony held recently awarded top writers with cash prizes, certificates of merit, medals and trophies. Sean Harrison was named the Best Overall Writer while 2nd place was given to Gloria Malcolm-Foster who was also named Outstanding Writer. The third place and Special Writer Award was copped by writers Keisha Brissette & Leiso Edwards and 4th place and Choice Writer Award given to Rohan Facey. Noteworthy writer, Seon Lewis was given 5th place.

Several noteworthy Jamaican writers have had association with and benefitted from the competition including Professor Mervyn Morris, Dionne Jackson-Miller, Trevor Rhone, Basil Dawkins, Nadine Tomlinson, Rhonda Harrison, Charmaine Morris and Michael Reckord.

Recent Press Releases

2016 Press Releases | 2015 Press Releases | 2014 Press Releases